90 Day Bible Reading Challenge

Have you ever had one of those gnawing projects that you have put off for years and years, but know you would benefit greatly from actually doing it. Well, reading through the Bible is one of those tasks.  As a follow of Jesus, the Word or God is central to my growth, or lack of, in my faith.  Until recently, this accomplishment has been on the important but not urgent list.  But, when my wife, Krysta, completed the 90 day Bible reading challenge earlier this year, I knew that I would need to get this done soon if I were to have any integrity in thinking I was the spiritual leader of our home.  Checking a box doesn’t necessarily make you a leader, but rising to a challenge does.

The time has now come.  In researching how to do this, I looked at several reading plans, ranging from 90 days to 1 year.  After talking to Krysta, I believe the 90 day option makes the most sense for my personality.  I am a quick start, but not the best in long-term focus.  I am usually on to the next thing.  Hopefully, 90 days will prove short enough to keep my attention.  I am using the Bible in 90 Days plan in the YouVersion Bible app.

One consistent piece of advice I have found is that its easier to do with a partner, for support and accountability.  Well, I don’t have someone doing it along with me per se.  But, I decided to dust off the old blog to serve this purpose.  If you are interested in doing it with me, that’s great.  Otherwise, I do covet your prayers and support during this summer.   I plan on posting weekly updates as I progress.

For now, I have some reading to do!

About Charlie

I am a Child of God, a Husband, a Father and a Wealth Advisor. My mission is very simple: "Instruct those who are rich in this present world not to be conceited or to fix their hope on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly supplies us with all things to enjoy. Instruct them to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to share, storing up for themselves the treasure of a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of that which is life indeed." 1 Timothy 6:17-19. One last thing: Go Gators!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

